A Random Act of Kindness That Made Me Cry

by: Alicia M. Blanco

RAKshoes

Last night while I was scrolling through Facebook before going to sleep, I came across my friend’s status and I need to share it with you:

“I just seen a kid about 18 or 19 with no shoes on that came up to me at the gas station. I’m thinking he was coming over to bum money. He said, ‘that’s a really nice car, I just wanted to tell you that.’ I said thanks. He had a sign hanging from his neck that read ‘hungry’… So I offered him cash to get food and he said, ‘no thanks but I will take one of those bags of chips you have on your seat if you don’t mind.’ I said in my head, wow that’s never happened…So I asked him, ‘where are your shoes?’ and he said, ‘my dad has to wear them to work because it’s the only pair we have.’ For some reason in that very moment I didn’t even think twice and I took off my new Olympic Retro 6s and gave them to him. He was in shock and started to tear up. I told him thank you. Because its people like you that makes me see the world in a different light.”

Cue the tears.

I couldn’t hold them back when I saw this! It’s the stories like THIS that make me see the world in a different light…

My faith in humanity is restored more and more everyday.

This is the perfect example of how a Random Act of Kindness can change someone’s life. And by the looks of it, it seems like both lives were changed through this.

My friend Bobby who posted this story is a great guy. And after reading about his random act of kindness, my respect for him has certainly increased.

I started The Random Act of Kindness Challenge (#TRAKchallenge #trakCHANGE) two weeks ago and I’m so moved by stories like this that are surfacing— and the feeling I have in my heart about lives changing around us is truly indescribable.

When I started The Wave, it was my mission to conquer depression and promote a massive movement in the way we treat one another. I believe with all my heart that all it takes is one person to do something nice for someone else, and from there it will start a huge wave of people paying it forward and spreading the kindness that was bestowed upon them…

Before you know it, the wave will land on someone who is spiritually barefoot, feeling numb, alone, depressed, even suicidal. Your kindess can literally save a life.

So go out today and do something extra beautiful for someone else. You’ll begin to feel so much joy and beauty from within.

Leave a Reply

