Eat, Pray, Love // Part 2

by: Alicia M. Blanco

epl2

Now that I’m back in LA and able to really reflect on my “Eat Pray Love” adventure (and can FINALLY talk about the details) I feel really overwhelmed. It seems like it may be nearly impossible to express how emotional I’ve been.  So enjoy the pictures! Hopefully they will better describe what my writing simply can’t.

EAT.

The food in Israel was nothing short of amazing. On the first day that we went out for lunch, I think I ate enough for the rest of the week, for a family of four. I had four pita breads all to myself and an endless supply of hummus, chicken, falafel, vegetables, French fries… you name it. But it was the way in which all of our meals were presented to us that was especially magnificent. We were made to feel like royalty! They took such great care of us and presented each meal in such a detailed, ornate, elaborate and artistic way.  These pictures truly don’t do it justice.

eat4

What an indescribable feeling it was to eat to our hearts content and in such a lavish setting. Thank you to Susie Castillo, Miss USA 2003 for capturing most of those AMAZING pictures of our meals!

Literally, every single meal was fit for a royal court and dignitaries, ambassadors, VIPs… so of course we felt overwhelmingly appreciative, gracious and ate like Queens. On this particular night we were joined by former Israeli Ambassador of the UN, Gabriella Shalev.


PRAY.

I felt closer to God than ever before in the week I spent in Israel. For me, being in the holy land was cleansing, healing and the biggest learning experience of my entire life. I felt the presence of the Holy Spirit with me everywhere I went.

I felt closer to God than ever before in the week I spent in Israel. For me, being in the holy land was cleansing, healing and the biggest learning experience of my entire life. I felt the presence of the Holy Spirit with me everywhere I went.

From the Western Wall (also known as the wailing wall in the Old City of Jerusalem where I was honored with the task of praying for several of you - THANK YOU to my bestie Kristen for capturing this picture of me leaning against the wall and praying!!!) to the boat ride on the Sea of Galilee...it was all just so magical and stunning to pray on an entirely different level. It truly left me so speechless and I felt like I was emotionally melting away any grief, pain, confusion, hurt or any other ailment holding me back in my life.  Such an intense wave of emotions.

Praying along the Western Wall (also known as the wailing wall in the Old City of Jerusalem.)

I was honored with the task of praying for several of you – THANK YOU to my bestie Kristen for capturing this picture of me leaning against the wall and praying!!!) to the boat ride on the Sea of Galilee…it was all just so magical and stunning to pray on an entirely different level. It truly left me so speechless and I felt like I was emotionally melting away any grief, pain, confusion, hurt or any other ailment holding me back in my life. Such an intense wave of emotions.

Lighting candles in prayer at The Church of the Holy Sepulchrer.

Lighting candles in prayer at The Church of the Holy Sepulchrer.

This is the exact spot where Jesus Christ was crucified. I was able to kneel down and pray over the shrine. It was incredible!

This is the exact spot where Jesus Christ was crucified. I was able to kneel down and pray over the shrine. It was incredible!

I bought some rosaries and other gifts in the Old City of Jerusalem and prayed over them at The Church of the Holy Sepulchrer. This is the actual stone slab where the body of Jesus Christ was cleaned off after he died.

I bought some rosaries and other gifts in the Old City of Jerusalem and prayed over them at The Church of the Holy Sepulchrer. This is the actual stone slab where the body of Jesus Christ was cleaned off after he died.

Praying with Susie.

Praying with Susie.

This was a level of prayer i will never forget. I will be thankful for the rest of my life for this experience.  And I pray you feel something stirring up inside of you simply by reading about my experience and seeing these pictures.

This was a level of prayer I will never forget. I will be thankful for the rest of my life for this experience. And I pray you feel something stirring up inside of you simply by reading about my experience and seeing these pictures.

pray8

It was such an honor to be interviewed by the Christian Broadcasting Network about my blog! Speechless! I was able to talk about the Inner Beauty of Israel. Too cool!

It was such an honor to be interviewed by the Christian Broadcasting Network about my blog! Speechless! I was able to talk about the Inner Beauty of Israel. Too cool!

Swimming in the Dead Sea

Swimming in the Dead Sea

Boat ride on the Sea of Galilee

I remember one moment in particular when we were on our boat ride in the Sea of Galilee listening to some praise and worship music- I felt like I was literally floating in the clouds. The power of prayer is simply priceless and to be able to say that I prayed in Israel is truly a dream come true for me. I pray to go back to Israel again very soon.


LOVE.

SHE SAID YES! After a whirlwind trip of eating and praying in Israel, I got to spend the weekend in New York City with some of my very best girlfriends for a “girls trip” – yet little did our girl Nia Sanchez know that we were REALLY there for her surprise engagement!!! Extra exclamation marks for that!!!!

SHE SAID YES!

After a whirlwind trip of eating and praying in Israel, I got to spend the weekend in New York City with some of my very best girlfriends for a “girls trip” – yet little did our girl Nia Sanchez know that we were REALLY there for her surprise engagement!!! Extra exclamation marks for that!!!!

Nia is the reigning Miss USA and she’s been dating her man, Daniel Booko, for about a year and a half. It has been so much fun watching their love story unfold. So when Daniel called all of us ladies going to NYC for the weekend to inform us that he would be proposing while we were there, we got so much more excited about our trip.   We were so honored to be entrusted with the responsibility of tricking Nia into joining us for a “rooftop dinner and some drinks” that night (as well as making sure she got all dressed up and got her nails done that day too, etc.)

Nia is the reigning Miss USA and she’s been dating her man, Daniel Booko, for about a year and a half. It has been so much fun watching their love story unfold. So when Daniel called all of us ladies going to NYC for the weekend to inform us that he would be proposing while we were there, we got so much more excited about our trip. We were so honored to be entrusted with the responsibility of tricking Nia into joining us for a “rooftop dinner and some drinks” that night (as well as making sure she got all dressed up and got her nails done that day too, etc.)

LOVE3

I am so blessed to have such a loving group of girlfriends. My time in NYC was all about LOVE!

I am so blessed to have such a loving group of girlfriends. My time in NYC was all about LOVE!

“As iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another.” Proverbs 27:17

This was just minutes after it happened. We were so happy and overflowing with LOVE!

This was just minutes after it happened. We were so happy and overflowing with LOVE!

If you know me well, you know I’m a huge fan of fairytale love stories, romance, relationships, being swept off your feet, the whole nine. I just love Love so much. I’m totally and completely a relationship type person. And just as much, I’m also totally and completely a family oriented person. I am really attracted to men with strong relationships with his family. I’ve even been known to encourage boyfriends in my past to send flowers and/or a random call or text to his mom and sisters, if applicable.  I love that stuff.

I also dream of my future husbands’ family being so in love with me and being excited to welcome me into their family.  This is why being part of Nia’s engagement completely solidified the importance of being embraced and accepted by your partners’ family.

This is Daniels sister. She is the cutest!! I think this picture really captures the love the Booko family has for Nia. She was tremendous help to Daniel on this unforgettable day. She drove out from Boston to NYC the day before to help set up the rooftop with candles, flowers, pictures, balloons, champagne, and a candy bar. Too sweet. She also made sure the happy couple called up the rest of the family to share the exciting news right away. Hearing how happy his family sounded with each phone call was so beautifully overwhelming. They love Nia so much. I was bawling.  It’s so important. Love and support from family is priceless.

Nia hugging her soon to be sister-in-law, right after the proposal.

This is Daniels sister. She is the cutest!! I think this picture really captures the love the Booko family has for Nia. She was tremendous help to Daniel on this unforgettable day. She drove out from Boston to NYC the day before to help set up the rooftop with candles, flowers, pictures, balloons, champagne, and a candy bar. Too sweet. She also made sure the happy couple called up the rest of the family to share the exciting news right away. Hearing how happy his family sounded with each phone call was so beautifully overwhelming. They love Nia so much. I was bawling. It’s so important. Love and support from family is priceless. Ironically, just hours before the engagement, Nia shared with us how much she wanted to be part of Daniel’s amazing family one day. I took all of this as just validation and confirmation for my heart. Family is everything.

Ironically, just hours before the engagement, Nia shared with us how much she wanted to be part of Daniel’s amazing family one day. I took all of this as just validation and confirmation for my heart. Family is everything.   I can think of no greater way to wrap up my Eat Pray Love journey than to witness my friends dream love story become a reality so whimsically. Nia has such a GLOW to her now that she is so madly in love. I think most women would agree that when we are loved like never before, then we are unstoppable and can't help but to reciprocate that love right back to our man. And that’s the way love should be…

I can think of no greater way to wrap up my Eat Pray Love journey than to witness my friends dream love story become a reality so whimsically. Nia has such a GLOW to her now that she is so madly in love. I think most women would agree that when we are loved like never before, then we are unstoppable and can’t help but to reciprocate that love right back to our man. And that’s the way love should be…

A little sidenote about this picture of me in front of the L O V E statue... I honestly didn't even go looking for it! We just so happened to stumble across it on our way to dinner. I saw it and immediately started to cry. I felt like it was God concluding my Eat Pray Love journey so poetically. I repeat, I wasn't even looking for it! And yet BAM, there it was...and it found me.

LOVE.

A little sidenote about this picture of me in front of the L O V E statue… I honestly didn’t even go looking for it! We just so happened to stumble across it on our way to dinner. I saw it and immediately started to cry. I felt like it was God concluding my Eat Pray Love journey so poetically. I repeat, I wasn’t even looking for it! And yet BAM, there it was…and it found me.

And that’s exactly how I promise to live the rest of my dating life.  I won’t go looking for it or try so long and so hard to make something work. I know in my heart that when I’m least expecting it, it will find ME. He will pursue me, court me, protect me, and never give up on me.  I know it won’t be easy, love never is, but I also know it shouldn’t be so hard either.  #love

That’s another thing I learned while in Israel – life is so precious and tomorrow has no guarantees. In the event of a bomb threat, everyone has fifteen seconds to get to a bomb shelter. Fifteen seconds. When I heard that, I promised myself to enjoy every second of my life.

“And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.”

1 Corinthians 13:13

I love you all for reading this!!

Leave a Reply

