Acne Helped Me To FEEL

By: Carolina Guzman

acnecarolina
In 2014, my life had an interesting turn of events. My whole life I had clear and smooth skin. I would often get so many compliments by friends and even perfect strangers about the clarity of my skin. But out of nowhere, I started to break out. Not just a pimple or two, but all over my face. Nothing seemed to work to clear it up. My confidence that I had built up over the years started to deteriorate at a rapid speed. I became depressed. I didn’t  want to leave the house. I remember one day walking into the gym, and as I changed in the locker room, I broke down into tears and called my father to pick me up. I felt ugly. I felt like everyone was staring at me.

I spent many nights at home, completely alone, which awarded me with a lot of time to think. And it was in those lonely nights that I actually came to a few conclusions about life. External beauty fades. Have you ever noticed how some books are all torn up from the outside, but the story inside remains the same? Or how about a vehicle that may have some scratches or dents, but the engine still makes it run just as it did when it was brand new? Don’t let those scratches, dents, or blemishes on the outside make you feel like you can’t achieve your dreams or make a difference in the world. If you do, you’re submittng that physical looks are more important than those dreams and goals you have from within.

I pushed myself during those 10 months while I battled with acne. It wasn’t easy! I cried my eyes out one day as I got ready for an event. But when I got there, I forgot all about my acne and blemishes. I had great conversations with so many wonderful people. So many of them called me “beautiful”… and I know they were not just talking about my external beauty. “ You have a heart that will take you far.”  Such a great compliment. This is the kind of stuff that wakes you up and makes you feel human. You feel relatable. You just FEEL. God puts us through trials for a reason. I’ll admit that prior to my battle with acne, I had moments where I was a bit shallow. Momenta of stagnancy and a sense of taking so much for granted.  I’m not perfect and I know this happens to many of us. But because of this chapter in my life, I have learned to appreciate everyone and everything around me. I pay more attention to the inner beauty of a person than the way they look. Every one is beautiful and unique in their own way. Never hate anything about your self. What you dislike about you, someone may be falling in love with. Take the flaws you have with you, while you take on this world and make a difference. God makes no mistakes. If your heart is beautiful, so are you.

2 thoughts on “Acne Helped Me To FEEL

Leave a Reply

