COUPLED Episode 9

This was a really awesome episode because it finally showed each of the couples spending some quality time together off by themselves. Up until then, everything we did was always with all the other couples so these individual dates came at the perfect time.

We all picked our dates out of a fishbowl and some of us traded dates with other couples. Tyler was really awesome to swap out ATV’ing with fishing. (I know, WHAT?!?!) I had never been ATV’ing or fishing before but I knew I wanted a date where we could spend more time talking and not yelling over each other on some ATV’s.  Also, I embarrassingly confused ATV’ing with dirt biking which I definitely didn’t want to do. Pretty funny because in the car on the way to the fishing date location, I saw some ATV’s ride by and said, “that looks like so much fun! What are those?” and Tyler looked at me and said, “babe, those are ATV’S!!!!” It was pretty funny and thankfully he didn’t make me feel too bad about it. Besides, he grew up fishing and it was a big part of his life so I’m glad we got to do something he loved and could talk passionately about. And we had a great time! We were only out in the water for less than 20 minutes so it was pretty perfect that we both happened to catch our fish so quickly.

What they didn’t show was when we got back to the island where we would be eating dinner, we got to fillet the fish ourselves – blood, guts and all. I took that knife and sliced into that fish like a pro and Tyler was shocked. I was shocked too! I had blood all over my hands and it didn’t gross me out surprisingly. It was a very hands-on experience and a chance for Tyler to see the other side of this “pageant girl.”

You all heard him bring up how many kids he wants (3-6) and we laughed about what he wanted to name his six children. We talked about our childhood and upbringing, and more about how important our faith was to us. Lots of important stuff was touched on and I think this was a moment where I felt like despite the 5-year age difference and location (I’m in LA and Tyler lives in Miami), that if we realllllllly wanted to and put in the effort, then we could try to make it work when the show ended. I mean, in total Tyler and I spent about 5 days together, which isn’t long enough to make such a big decision… but the in-depth conversations we had throughout the show (and that are rarely shown) were intriguing. You only get to see the playful side of Tyler and not the mature side that I got to know. But as I said in the show, there were still moments where the age thing was an issue and we were still trying to see if we were truly compatible given the circumstances of the distance between us. And, I often wondered if Tyler was truly ready to settle down and get married anytime soon, which is what I’m looking for at this time in my life. I am 29, soon to be 30. I want marriage and children. But does Tyler, so soon? I thought about this a lot.

All of the other couples seem to figure a lot of deeper stuff out too on their dates and it was interesting to see. Different sides of some personalities were shown and I think that’s very important in the dating process. I can’t wait for you guys to see who stays coupled up and who goes home single.

Can’t believe the last and final episode is next week! Thanks for enjoying this crazy adventure with us.

XO

Leave a Reply

